Partial mea culpa

A few days ago I wrote a post trying to get attention of database designers to a few things, namely making searching more convenient and fun for students so they would use the databases more frequently.

One particular thing I mentioned was embeddable search widgets.  After investigating and some legwork on my part, I discovered that some of our database companies do now provide widget search boxes:  EBSCO, GALE, and Facts on File.    The jury is out on a couple of companies, and a few have indicated they do not currently provide this service(include Lexis Nexis which surprised me!)

In any case, although the designs are not hip, it’s heartening to see that this option is now available.

Also, I do have to say Kudos to World Book for their new design, which is much more user friendly!

Now this is stuff only a librarian could probably love, but in the interest of fairness, I had to correct myself!

Photo credit:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/jasmeet/2440466050/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *