Giving students a voice

When people wonder about the power of web 2.0 tools or about the use of blogging, a story like this one about Miles Levin, a high school student who blogged about his life with cancer, illustrates the true human power of sharing our stories online. 

 How many people can be reached by his experience because he wrote about it in a place where it could be shared, far past his time?

He writes eloquently in a blog post featured on CNN,

“Unlike many cancer patients, I don’t have much anger. The way I see it, we’re not entitled to one breath of air. We did nothing to earn it, so whatever we get is bonus. . . .

What solace I do find is in the knowledge that I have done everything I can to transmute this terribleness into something positive by showing as many people as I can how to endure it with a smile.”

His writing reminds me that giving our students a voice and a community is a powerful gift, because they have so much wisdom to offer us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *