New ideas from Internet librarian workshop

We just finished the first workshop on blogs, wikis, RSS and podcasts.  I found out about a really cool website, www.Rollyo.com.  It lets you as a teacher or the librarian set up a “list” of recommended websites for a particular type of project.  Then you can put the link on your website so students use a selected group of sites for their research.   I haven’t had time to look at it yet, but it sounds really useful and easy!

I also saw a really neat example of using podcasting(which is really just a recording of a person talking) for booktalks that students can record and put up on website to share, or on the library’s website.    (They use Audacity software (audacity.sourceforge.net) and Lame software for this.)  All you need is a microphone and the internet.

Another cool idea I heard would be great for independent study students, and that was having the student write their paper on a wiki site.  Then you as the teacher could have a password and get in and read their paper as they went, offer comments and advice, and help them revise it.   I hadn’t thought of using a wiki that way.

There’s a lot to absorb, but I’ll come back with a lot of great ideas for getting students interested via some of these projects.  The next presentation is on e-books and audiobooks.

2 thoughts on “New ideas from Internet librarian workshop

  1. I like the wiki concept. I wonder if any one would want to test it out to see it it works. I just read an article in Tech Learning magazine that gives a step-by-step way to create and publish a podcast. I am tired of talking about it and ready to do it.

    I also received 2 Ipods today from PTO. I have spent tonight downloading some Foreign Language podcasts to them. Next week, I will check them out to some of our FL teachers to see if they could use them. I don’t know the results and don’t have any ideas about what can happen with them. But I am ready to test them out. Will keep you updated, of course!

  2. One use I heard about at the conference was using it with Itunes books. The librarians downloaded a set of books onto the Ipod and then checked them out to reluctant readers.

    I am thinking about how to work on this with a couple of teachers I have in mind whose students would be receptive I think.

    They also had students record their book reviews as Podcasts. I have to look up their website so I can post it for you–I think it was Summit Middle School Library.

    I liked the idea of sharing podcasts that are accessible on the computer too, so teachers could assign them or bring a class into the lab.

    The presenters mentioned a site that collects Museum podcasts, and the ones they showed us had GREAT applications for the classroom.

    Sounds great! I’m eager to see what we can do with this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *